Leadership

Silke Friedrich, Executive Director

Silke Friedrich, Executive Director

Silke Friedrich studied Social and Business Communication at Berlin University of the Arts. She has been the committed and passionate Executive Director of Berlin Metropolitan School since 2007. In this position, she has played a major role in shaping the school’s development in recent years. As the spokeswoman for BMS, she is also responsible for the structural expansion of the school in the fields of governance and curriculum. Her aim is to establish BMS as a leading educational institute over the long-term and to set new standards for a modern, values-based education. In addition to strategic development and quality management, the topic of internal and external communication is also one of her key areas of responsibility.

silke.friedrich(at)metropolitanschool.com

 

Gillian Evans, ELC Coordinator

Gillian Evans, ELC Coordinator

Gillian Evans began her teaching career in 2005 in Manchester, UK which is where she gained her first valuable experiences working in both mainstream and special educational needs settings. In 2009 Gillian moved to Berlin and began working as an educator in the ELC at BMS as well as later taking on leadership roles in curriculum and team leading up until 2019 when she took on the role as ELC coordinator. Gillian is committed to providing a caring and developmentally fitting educational experience for our youngest learners. 

gillian.evans(at)metropolitanschool.

Martina Nickel, ELC Coordinator

Martina Nickel, ELC Coordinator

Martina Nickel is a state-approved educator with a degree in Early Childhood Education and Care which shed earned at the Alice Salomon University of Applied Science, Berlin in 2008. During her studies, Martina was granted a scholarship and completed an internship and was later employed at a Sure Start Center in Birmingham, England. Furthermore, Martina has more than 15 years of work experience in the field of private childcare, educational curriculum planning for Berlin language schools, and 10 years of experience as a leader of Early Learning Centers throughout Berlin.  Her areas of interest and expertise is the use of modern technologies, valuing and celebrating diversity, and strengthening a deep sense of confidence an personal competence in children.

martina.nickel(at)metropolitanschool.com

Jenny O´Fee, Primary School Principal

Jenny O´Fee, Primary School Principal

Jenny O’Fee has more than 16 years of experience in international education and has held leadership positions in both UK and French international schools. Jenny is passionate about technology in the classroom and seeks to create an evironment where a strong culture of inquiry-based learning is supported by technology. As a long-term member of the Senior Leadership team at BMS, Jenny has honed over 10 years of experience in leading our Primary School with her strategic vision and engaging comittment to students from Grade 1-Grade 6. 

Justine Otte, Vice Principal Teaching & Learning, PYP Coordinator

Justine Otte, Vice Principal Teaching & Learning, PYP Coordinator

Before joining BMS, Justine Otte previously spent 8 years at Frankfurt International School, where she honed her leadership skills as a team leader and curriculum coordinator during her tenure. Justine also brings with her over a decade of teaching experience, specializing in upper primary education and language arts. As Vice Principal of the Primary School, Justine is committed to empowering both teachers and students to benefit fully from a strong culture of teaching and learning.

justine.otte(at)metropolitanschool.com

Tim Stroh, Vice Principal Academic Achievement & Wellbeing

Tim Stroh, Vice Principal Academic Achievement & Wellbeing

Tim Stroh has over 16 years of international teaching and leadership experience in schools throughout Europe. He has previously worked as the PYP Coordinator at BMS and has a strong interest in curriculum development, technology in education and concept based teaching and learning. As Vice Principal of Upper Primary, Tim is committed to developing agency in students and fostering learning connections that go beyond the classroom walls.

tim.stroh(at)metropolitanschoolcom

Jacob Christensen, CCEP Coordinator

Jacob Christensen, CCEP Coordinator

Jacob Christensen earned his undergraduate degree from University College Copenhagen in 2005, specializing in Social Education. Jacob has extensive experience in teaching both adults and children with intellectual disabilities, having spent 7 years as a teacher for special education in his native Copenhagen and 4 years in New York, instructing children and adolescents with autism. Serving as 6th grade team leader for 3 years at BMS, Jacob assumed the leadership of CCEP in 2019, together with Ms. Antje Couball. Jacob sees the great benefit of guiding the social and emotional development of students at BMS through the CCEP Program, as it provides educators with a holistic viewpoint of their growth through the different settings of the school day.

jacob.christensen(at)metropolitanschool.com

 

Antje Couball, CCEP Coordinator

Antje Couball, CCEP Coordinator

Antje Couball is a state approved social worker with a degree in the discipline that she earned in Neubrandenburg in 2009. During her study period, she interned in Hungary and Canada. Antje has vast work experience in social projects. She has worked for a Womens' Center and was involved in a Children's Housing Project both on national and international levels. Antje joined the CCEP team at BMS in 2011. She has been the CCEP Coordinator since 2013. Her final thesis focused on the implementation of the restorative justice method of family group conference within the youth welfare and youth justice system. Hence Antje's vision is that BMS embraces the restorative school principle wholly.

antje.couball(at)metropolitanschool.com

Samantha Hearn, Secondary School Principal

Samantha Hearn, Secondary School Principal

Samantha Hearn has twenty years of experience in education, throughout which she has supported students, families, and staff. She is passionate about nurturing young people during their educational journey and believes that by establishing accessible networks of support, we encourage them to reach their full potential. As a committed advocate of student leadership, Samantha believes it is vital to provide young people with opportunities to express their views and positively influence their communities.

samantha.hearn(at)metropolitanschool.com

Mandy Watson, Vice Principal, Teaching & Learning

Mandy Watson, Vice Principal, Teaching & Learning

Amanda Watson has over 20 years of experience in international schools including IB World schools in Europe and Vietnam. She is passionate about all aspects of teaching and learning having previously held the lead positions of Head of Science, Curriculum Coordinator and Teaching & Learning Coordinator. Amanda shares her enthusiasm with our dedicated team of Secondary teachers and supports all BMS stakeholders in learning more about our program content and delivery. Aligned with her teaching and learning expertise, Amanda actively seeks to provide opportunities for students and teachers to learn more about neuroscience and how the brain learns.

amanda.watson(at)metropolitanschool.com

Alexander Erk, Academic Dean

Alexander Erk, Academic Dean

Alexander Erk assists in the development, alignment and implementation of our Secondary School curriculum programs, bringing with him over 17 years experience in education. Passionate about bilingual learning, Alex has worked extensively with the IBDP and German Abitur. With former roles as deputy director and principal in international schools, Alex brings his expertise and experience to BMS through his role as Academic Dean.

alexander.erk(at)metropolitanschool.com

Toni Goll, Business Director

Toni Goll, Business Director

Toni Goll has been working for Berlin Metropolitan School since February 2007. Trained as a banking specialist, he was responsible for credit commitments in the professional real estate business of a major European bank, has experience as a corporate finance controller, and has managed the commercial transactions of major investment activities on behalf of companies. Toni Goll is head of finance and administration for the school and is also responsible for the infrastructural development of the school grounds and facilities.

toni.goll(at)metropolitanschool.com

Dirk Itter, IT Director

Dirk Itter, IT Director

Dirk Itter has over 19 years experiences in IT, having spent professional experience in IT sales and support structures. In 2006, Dirk switched to the hotel industry, where he was able to hone his management skills as an IT manager. Later Dirk took over a leadership position, where he was responsible for the entire IT processes in many high-end European hotels. Beginning in 2018, Dirk assumed the position as IT director at BMS with the goal of recognizing both the potential of technology and to connect this potential with sensible and obtainable learning content. Teachers as well as students should profit from a secure and modern working environment and to learn a thoughtful and self-confident approach to technology.

dirk.itter(at)metropolitanschool.com

Vivian Leone, Head of Human Resources

Vivian Leone, Head of Human Resources

Vivian Leone leads our Human Resources at BMS and brings with her over 8 years of experience in managing and supporting the needs of staff, faculty and organizational work structures as a whole. After joining BMS in 2017, Vivian leads the development of HR services which cultivates a strong connection between staff and management and supports their joint growth by offering collaboration opportunities, advice, guidance, mediation, and a safe space for exchange.

vivian.leone(at)metropolitanschool.com

Leadership

Silke Friedrich, Executive Director

Silke Friedrich, Executive Director

Silke Friedrich studierte an der Universität der Künste, Berlin Gesellschafts- und Wirtschaftskommunikation. Seit 2007 leitet sie als Executive Director die Berlin Metropolitan School mit Engagement und Leidenschaft. In ihrer Funktion hat sie innerhalb der letzten Jahre die Entwicklung der Schule maßgeblich gestaltet. Als Träger der BMS verantwortete sie ebenfalls den strukturellen Aufbau der Schule in den Bereichen Governance und Programm. Ihr Ziel ist es, die BMS langfristig als führende Bildungseinrichtung zu etablieren und Standards für eine moderne, wertegetriebene Ausbildung zu setzen. Neben der strategischen Entwicklung und dem Qualitätsmanagement gehört das Thema der internen wie externen Kommunikation zu ihren Verantwortungsbereichen.

silke.friedrich(at)metropolitanschool.com

 

Gillian Evans, ELC Coordinator

Gillian Evans, ELC Coordinator

Gillian Evans ist seit 2009 Teil des BMS Teams und hat in 11 Jahren wichtige Erfahrungen als Lehrerin im Bereich Kindergarten und Vorschule gesammelt. In ihrer Zeit an der BMS war Gillian bereits als Fachkoordinatorin in die Weiterentwicklung unseres Curriculums involviert und konnte in diesen verschiedenen Positionen Führungserfahrung sammeln. Ihr Ziel ist es, für unsere jüngsten Schüler:innen ein fürsorgliches und stimulierendes Umfeld zu schaffen, dass auf deren Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten ist.

gillian.evans(at)metropolitanschool.com

Martina Nickel, ELC Coordinator

Martina Nickel, ELC Coordinator

Martina Nickel ist eine staatlich anerkannte Erzieherin mit einem Abschluss in frühkindlicher Erziehung, den sie 2008 an der Alice Salomon Hochschule, Berlin abgelegt hat. Während ihres Studiums hat sie vom Sure Start Center in Birmingham, England ein Stipendium erhalten, hat dort ein Praktikum abgelegt und später auch mehrere Jahre für diese Institution gearbeitet. Darüber hinaus hat Martina über 15 Jahre Erfahrungen im privaten Bildungsbereich gesammelt, insbesondere in der Entwicklung von Curricula für private Sprachschulen in Berlin. In den vergangenen 10 Jahren war sie als Kita- und Vorschulleiterin in Berlin tätig. Ihr Interessen und ihre Kernkompetenzen liegen in der Nutzung von modernen Technologien, der Integration der verschiedenen Kulturen der Schüler:innen und Lehrer:innen im Klasseraum sowie der Stärkung des Selbstbewusstseins und der Persönlichkeit von Kindern.

martina.nickel(at)metropolitanschool.com

Justine Otte, Vice Principal Teaching & Learning, PYP Coordinator

Justine Otte, Vice Principal Teaching & Learning, PYP Coordinator

Bevor Justin Otte die Rolle des Vice Principal der Primary School an der BMS übernommen hat, arbeitete sie 8 Jahre an der Frankfurt International School. An der Frankfurt International School hat sie als Team Leader und Curriculum Leiterin bereits Erfahrungen im Bereich Administration gesammelt. Neben ihren Erfahrungen im Bereich der Administration bereichert sie das Team der BMS mit mehr als 10 Jahren Berufserfahrung als Lehrerin mit einer Spezialisierung auf den Bereich der Upper Primary School und Sprachen. Als Vice Principal der Primary School möchte sie sowohl Lehrer:innen als auch Schüler:innen darin unterstützen, gemeinsam eine starke Kultur des Lernens zu gestalten, von der alle profitieren werden.

justine.otte(at)metropolitanschool.com

Tim Stroh, Vice Principal Academic Achievement & Wellbeing

Tim Stroh, Vice Principal Academic Achievement & Wellbeing

Tim Stroh hat in den vergangenen 16 Jahren weitreichende Erfahrungen in verschiedenen Schulen in Europa gesammelt – sowohl als Lehrer als auch in Führungspositionen. Er hat seine Karriere an der BMS als PYP Coordinator begonnen, da sein großes Interesse der Entwicklung eines modernen Curriculum gilt, in dem das konzeptbasierte Lernen sowie die Integration von Technologie in den Lernprozess eine zentrale Rolle einnehmen. In seiner Rolle als Vice Principal für die Upper Primary School (Klassen 4 bis 6) möchte er seinen Beitrag dafür leisten, dass unsere Schüler:innen ihren Lernerfolg aktiv in die eigene Hand nehmen und dies über die Grenzen des Klassenraums hinweg.

tim.stroh(at)metropolitanschoolcom

Jacob Christensen, CCEP Coordinator

Jacob Christensen, CCEP Coordinator

Jacob Christensen hat seinen Abschluss in Sozialpädagogik im Jahr 2005 am University College Copenhagen abgelegt. In den ersten Jahren seines Berufslebens hat Jacob weitreichende Erfahrungen in der Arbeit mit geistig beeinträchtigten Erwachsenen und Kindern gesammelt. Er hat zunächst 7 Jahre in Copenhagen und dann 4 Jahre in New York gearbeitet, wo er autistische Kinder und Jugendliche unterrichtet hat. Mit seinem Einstieg an der BMS übernahm er die Rolle des Team Leaders für die 6. Klasse, die er 3 Jahre mit großen Enthusiasmus ausgefüllt hat. Seit 2019 teilt er sich mit seiner Kollegin Antje Couball die Gesamtverantwortung für das Co-Curricula Program. Was ihn an der Ausgestaltung des CCEP Programms besonders reizt, ist die Tatsache, dass die Erzieher:innen des CCEP die Schüler:innen sowohl im Klassenraum als auch außerhalb des Klassenraums in ihrer emotionalen und sozialen Entwicklung begleiten können.

jacob.christensen(at)metropolitanschool.com

Antje Couball, CCEP Coordinator

Antje Couball, CCEP Coordinator

Antje Couball hat im Jahr 2009 eine Ausbildung zur staatlich anerkannten Sozialarbeiterin mit einer Spezialisierung auf Disziplinmanagement abgeschlossen. Während ihrer Ausbildung hat sie praktische Erfahrungen in Ungarn und Kanada gesammelt. Nach ihrer Ausbildung hat sie in einem Frauenhaus sowie in einem Wohnprojekt für Kinder gearbeitet und dort insbesondere Erfahrungen im Bereich der sozialen Unterstützung sowohl im nationalen als auch im internationalen Kontext erworben. Seit 2011 arbeitet Antje im Bereich des Co-Curricula Program der BMS und ist seit 2013 als CCEP Coordinator mitverantwortlich für die Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung unseres CCEP Programms. Ihr Fokus liegt auf der Umsetzung des „Restorative Justice“ Ansatzes im Bereich des Behaviour Managements an der BMS. Ihr Ziel ist es, dazu beizutragen, dass dieser Ansatz konsistent an der BMS gelebt und umgesetzt wird.

antje.couball(at)metropolitanschool.com

Samantha Hearn, Secondary School Principal

Samantha Hearn, Secondary School Principal

Samantha Hearn hat mehr als 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung im internationalen Bildungsbereich. Ihre größte Motivation ist es, Schüler:innen, Familien und Kolleg:innen bei der Umsetzung ihrer persönlich und professionellen Ziele zu unterstützen. Ihr Herzensthema ist die Begleitung von Jugendlichen durch die herausfordernden Jahre der Pubertät. Sie ist fest davon überzeugt, dass es notwendig ist, ein gutes Support System für Schüler:innen zu gestalten, so dass alle Schüler:innen ihr volles Potential entfalten und sich bestmöglich entwickeln können. Sie glaubt fest daran, dass Schüler:innen in die Gestaltung ihrer Lebens- und Lernumgebung aktiv mit einbezogen werden sollten, um diese positiv beeinflussen zu können.

samantha.hearn(at)metropolitanschool.com

Mandy Watson, Vice Principal, Teaching & Learning

Mandy Watson, Vice Principal, Teaching & Learning

Amanda Watson hat mehr als 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung im internationalen Schulumfeld gesammelt und an verschiedenen IB World Schools in Europa und Vietnam unterrichtet. Das Zusammenspiel von „unterrichten“ und „lernen“ ist ihr Fokus, dem sie bereits in verschiedenen Führungspositionen nachgehen konnte. Amanda Watson ist motiviert, ihre Erfahrungen und insbesondere ihren Enthusiasmus mit Lehrer:innen, Eltern und Schüler:innen zu teilen und diese bestmöglich zu unterstützen. Ein Thema, das ihr besonders am Herzen liegt, ist der Fachbereich Neurowissenschaften. Passend zu ihrem professionellen Fokus hält sie regelmäßig Informationsveranstaltungen für Schüler:innen, Eltern und Lehrer:innen.

amanda.watson(at)metropolitanschool.com

Alexander Erk, Academic Dean

Alexander Erk, Academic Dean

Mit seiner 17-jährigen Erfahrung im Bildungswesen unterstützt Alexander Erk uns bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung unseres Curriculums. Mit seiner Leidenschaft für zweisprachiges Lernen hat sich Alexander intensiv mit dem IBDP und dem deutschen Abitur auseinandergesetzt. Seine früheren Erfahrungen als stellvertretender Direktor an einer internationalen Schule bringt Alexander nun als Akademischer Dekan an der BMS ein.

alexander.erk(at)metropolitanschool.com

Toni Goll, Business Director

Toni Goll, Business Director

Toni Goll ist seit 2007 für die Berlin Metropolitan School tätig. Ausgebildet als Bankkaufmann/Bankfachwirt, war er für die Kreditengagements im Bereich des professionellen Immobiliengeschäfts eines großen europäischen Bankinstituts verantwortlich, hat Erfahrungen als Unternehmenscontroller gesammelt und die kaufmännische Abwicklung einiger großer Investitionsvorhaben für Unternehmen geleitet. Toni Goll leitet den Finanz- und Verwaltungsbereich der Schule und ist darüber hinaus für die infrastrukturelle Weiterentwicklung des Schulgeländes verantwortlich.

toni.goll(at)metropolitanschool.com

Dirk Itter, IT Director

Dirk Itter, IT Director

Dirk Itter verfügt über 19 Jahre Erfahrung im IT Bereich. Nach seiner Ausbildung als Informatikkaufmann war er zunächst im IT Support tätig. Im Jahr 2006 wechselte er in die Hotelbranche, wo er als IT Manager erste Erfahrungen im IT Management sammelte. Später übernahm er eine Führungsposition, in der er schließlich die gesamten IT Prozesse mehrerer europäischer Spitzenhotels verantwortete. Seit 2018 ist er für die BMS tätig und leitet unsere IT Abteilung. Sein Ziel ist es, die Potentiale von IT für den Klassenraum zu erschließen und institutionelles Wachstum mittels IT zu fördern. Lehrer:innen sowie Schüler:innen sollen von einem sicheren und modernen Arbeitsumfeld profitieren und einen sorgsamen und selbstbewussten Umgang mit Technologie erlernen.

dirk.itter(at)metropolitanschool.com

Vivian Leone, Human Resources Director

Vivian Leone, Human Resources Director

Vivian Leone leitet die Human Resources Abteilung der BMS und bringt über 8 Jahre Erfahrung in der Verwaltung und Unterstützung der Bedürfnisse von Mitarbeitenden, Lehrkräften und organisatorischen Arbeitsstrukturen mit. Nach ihrem Start im Jahr 2017 hat Vivian Leone die Weiterentwicklung unserer HR-Services als eine ihrer Prioritäten definiert. Ihr Ziel ist es, ein gutes Arbeitsklima zu fördern und Möglichkeiten der Zuammenarbeit, des Austauschs and der Interaktion zwischen den verschiedenen Gruppen von Mitarbeitern und dem Management zu eröffnen, so dass jeder Einzelne und wir als Gruppe jeweils professionell wachsen können.  

vivian.leone(at)metropolitanschool.com